June 11, 2010

Adventures in Weight Loss

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:30 am by Jennifer

The funny thing about having a baby is that you gain a bunch of weight, and it takes forever for it to go away (at least for some of us).  Of course, you lose some weight right away, when you push the little one out, along with the rest of the placenta and other baby stuff.  My eating habits were awful during the pregnancy and in the first three months postpartum, so I actually gained 5 more pounds on top of what I already had.  That left me about needing to lose 16 total pounds to officially get rid of the baby weight.  And personally, I want to lose 20-30 pounds more on top of that.

I want to be healthy.  Statistically, as a woman, if you are overweight and have a waist size larger than 35 inches, you have a greater chance of heart disease.  Because of that, I want to lose at least seven inches from my waist.  I’m not sure how possible it is, but I want to at least work towards it.

Normally, I am pretty good about not eating over my calorie allotment.  I am pretty generous with myself, and I don’t starve myself by any means.  Last week, I totally blew it when my parents were here.  I didn’t work out, and I ate horribly.  This happens quite a bit.  It just means that I have to get right back on the horse and keep on going.  We all stumble, but that doesn’t mean I can quit.

So far to date, I think I have lost over ten pounds and lost about an inch from my waist.  I have been working to lose weight since mid-March, so I have lost approximately a pound a week.  I’m proud of that.  My strides have been slow, but steady.  I’m not really sure where I will end up, but I do plan on giving it my best shot.

To change my family forever, starting with me.  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

