May 31, 2010

Learning Perseverance from an Unruly Contact

Posted in Musings tagged , , , at 8:00 am by Jennifer

I am very new to contacts!  I first got them about three weeks ago, and at the end of the first week, I was struggling with allergies and they weren’t very comfortable.  To the doctor I went.  He gave me new contacts, complete with different eye drops and cleaner system.  I had to wait two days to put them in, and everything was fine!  They would be dry sometimes, but if I put in a few eye drops, they were comfortable again.

Well, come yesterday afternoon, I was trying to put them in and the one for my right eye got stuck in my eye lid.  Great!  Nothing worked to get it out.  I called the eye doctor and left a message.  I also called an urgent care clinic, but they don’t take things out of your eye.  What am I to do?  I have to wait until Tuesday since no one is available on Memorial Day weekend.  It sucks, but I have no other choice!  I have tried over and over to get it out, but I had no such luck. <sigh>

This reminds me of the Bible verse:

“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”  Romans 5: 3-5

I have to wait patiently for Tuesday to come and know that I will be just fine.  I need to remind myself to hang in there, because I can “build endurance” through my struggles with my eye.  By the way, its not painful…just irritating.

What is your “contact situation” right now?

1 Comment »

  1. Maureen said,

    Neat verse relating to your current suffering! Has Michael tried to get it out?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

